Daddy Daughter Candids

Go Matt, It's Your Birthday!

So after the formal portraits, I went into the dance hall to grab some candids.  I shot the portraits with my 50mm 1.8 so I was already set for low light.  I just opened it up to f1.8 and selected ISO1600 to give me the fastest shutter speed I could get in hopes of getting some sharp photos in this really low light.

What? What?

The lights set up for the dance floor make great compositional elements as well as giving an infinite number of color for key lights, rim lights etc.  I shot about 150 shots in about 15 minutes and found 26 to be useable. 

Everybody Jump

This last shot is one that I think captures a nice moment but the colors were too off.  I just couldn’t correct them to something that I liked so I went monochrome.  I really like this one.

I Love My Daddy

~ by pbphoto on June 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “Daddy Daughter Candids”

  1. Hi my name is james maurer; I took my daughter to the daddy daughter dance at the Eau Gallie First Baptist Church and had the photo taken. It turned out great, however, when I received the card the photo was stuck to the envelope therefore ruining the photo. I was woundering if there was any way to obtain another copy of the photo. I can send the original photo to you to prove the damage. Please contact me on how I am to resolve this issue. Thank you so much and God bless.

Leave a comment